Nutella Coquito Festive Holiday Drink

2013-12-21 21.50.29

Me and my excuses, right? A plethora of excuses! I should be ashamed! Trust me, I am. I tried balancing starting my MA, house duties, and we just got a new puppy! A lot has happened since we last spoke but I digress, let’s get to the recipe!

2013-12-17 16.30.34

Umm… Well, maybe that isn’t the recipe but isn’t my puppy the cutest? His name is Bowser.

This recipe is a rendition of the Puerto Rican classic Coquito. I am a purest, there is absolutely nothing like the original recipe. However, a lot of people have been going crazy about the Nutella version. In the light of the aforementioned events, I have decided to make my very own rendition of Nutella Coquito. Let me warn you, this recipe is dangerously good. I just had a cup. I am contemplating on whether or not having another.  

2013-12-21 21.50.29

Ingredients:
15 oz of Coco Lopez coconut cream (or any coconut cream you can get your mitts on)
14 oz condensed milk
12 oz evaporated milk
13.5 oz Coconut milk
1 tbs of vanilla extract
2 tbs of Nutella
8-9 oz of white rum
1. In your most festive and cheeriest gear, prepare your materials. I suggest singing beautiful Christmas carols possibly my favorites “Sleigh Ride” or “Baby, It’s Cold Outside” whilst you do this. If you’re Puerto Rican or feeling a bit culturally diverse you could sing my favorites “Alegre Vengo Cantado” or “Pastores a Belén”.

2. Take all of the ingredients and empty them into a large bowl. Using a hand mixer or possibly a blender, (some food blender of sorts) mix all of the ingredients together.

3. You’re done! Pour yourself a mug or two. Also, bear in mind that you shouldn’t drink more than 4 oz of Coquito. If you don’t like rum, you don’t have to use any! I usually make two batches: one virgin and one alcoholy.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

13 thoughts on “Nutella Coquito Festive Holiday Drink

  1. I admit Bowser is what drew me to the recipe 🙂 He is so adorable but your recipe for coquito sounds delicious. I never thought about adding nutella. I guessing it would taste like a melted almond joy? Will have to give it a shot.

  2. Love both the drink and the pup…they go well together…LOL! Thank you for sharing!! 😀

    Merry Christmas, my friend and best wishes to you and your loved ones in Year 2014! Cheers~ 😀

      1. On that note, have you seen the new trailer for Donkey Kong Tropical Freeze? Cranky Kong is a playable character. I believe the world is starting to understand the strength behind bitter and cranky characters!

      2. Yes, I just saw it and it looks crazy hard! I tried the DKC returns and that game kicked my butt! I think people are realizing how cranky and bitter characters are interesting characters not only in games (like they have for years) but in movies and TV too. Finally!

Leave a Reply

