Bowser here is doing what I like to call his "miserable" pose. I felt this would be appropriate considering I felt like that today. My dog is pretty stinkin' cute, isn't he?
Bowser here is doing what I like to call his “miserable” pose. I felt this would be appropriate considering I felt like that today. My dog is pretty stinkin’ cute, isn’t he?

Today, I ran out of time. I kept myself so busy I didn’t notice what time it was. I wanted to get the last of the boxes from the move unpacked, dinner done, and the laundry caught up. I didn’t realize that I’d spend my entire day doing it and not even finishing.

As I type this, I am overcome with a sense of disappointment. I wish I could have done more. I assigned these goals for myself and then I don’t even meet them.

Did you know?

You shouldn’t stretch yourself too thin. Time is precious but then again, so are you. There’s no need to beat yourself up over not finishing every task you set for yourself. It’s okay to leave something for tomorrow. I always assume I have to do everything and quickly. I tend to stress myself out when I don’t manage it. I’ve realized that this is not a productive way of going about my life. I need to learn to take things slowly. Do what I can and not worry about the rest because it will get done. I keep thinking, “Rome wasn’t built in a day”. I know why people use that phrase but I’m not trying to be ROME! I know that sounds silly but I’ve never really liked that saying anyway. I feel like it undermines how people are feeling. Still, it is said in order to comfort people like me who don’t know when to say when.

That’s why I’ve decided to not drive myself crazy over things like this. It’s not worth it. Plus, that laundry will be there tomorrow and I will be ready to finish it.

3 thoughts on “Did You Know? Rome Wasn’t Built In a Day

Leave a Reply

